I’m a nostalgist

screen-shot-2016-10-30-at-2-29-29-pm

After introducing to you my undying love for children’s television shows and analysing the results of my interviews with peers, to discover if they feel the same, I am going to sum up my findings.

Using ethnological research I discovered that I am not alone in having strong feelings of fondness and nostalgia for the television shows I sat on the lounge-room floor and watched excitedly as a child. I also discovered that many of my peers had TV rituals as a child (a large majority woke up to watch Cheez TV at 7am on school mornings) and some enjoy watching their favourite programs still today.

I found that some TV shows I watched in my adolescent years went over my head and I was able to enjoy much more in my teen or young adult years, such as Daria, The Simpsons and the-simpsons-twenty-seventh-season-38309many of the live action shows. These shows are of course, directed at an older audience, but as an eight-year-old I still did my best to try and understand what was happening. Despite this, these aren’t the only shows I continued to enjoy as I grew up, programs such as Arthur and Rugrats I would still happily sit down and watch today if it were playing on TV or if I saw a suggested link online. Again, many peers agree they would sit down and watch one of their childhood favourites if they walked past it playing on TV, however they wouldn’t seek out the show themselves.

I think the reason I still find kid’s shows enjoyable today is that they are made with storylines that have life lessons and are interesting. They’re not just made to connect with children, but also to relate to the parent’s watching the programs with their kids. I developed such an interest in the idea of telling a story using characters with humour and emotion that my TV memories play such a large part in my childhood.

Television shows have the ability to take an audience to a different place, to take their mind off what is real and exist purely for entertainment purposes. It was important for me to explore how my peers feel in regards to television to justify my theory that from a young age television has played a big role in not only my life, but the people in my age group’s lives too.

This is different to our parents and grandparents (something I explored in an earlier blog post), as many people in their age group did not grow up with such access to TVs. For those who did, they didn’t have such an array of options in regards to programs because the entertainment industry was not as large at that point in time.

As I wrote this post I took a study break and went for a snack in the kitchen, my younger mister-makersister was watching something in the lounge room, so I went to see what was on. She was watching an episode of Mr. Maker, it didn’t grab my attention. Mr. Maker is a children’s show that came out after my time and I realisedgiovanni_muciaccia_artattack that if Art Attack was on (one that existed while I was still a child) I definitely would’ve sat down and engaged in the program. This highlighted a flaw in my research. I asked my peers whether they would sit down and watch an episode of their favourite show as a child now and many said they would, however I did not ask whether they would sit down to purely watch children’s programs now. I think if I had of, the answer would more likely be a no. I believe the reason we are still entertained by and engaged with children’s shows that we watched as kids is due to nostalgia.

nostalgia-definition

Leave a Reply

